Early Mornings

Standard

I think the thing I love most about moving to New England is that (so far anyways) almost every morning is blanketed in wonderful fog. My morning commute is beautiful. My apartment is on the river along with these gorgeous old factory buildings. So that’s the first thing I see on my way to work. Then I drive through a cute town and towards the lovely salt water swamps that my office is next to.

I don’t know if it’s the fog or that they have trees EVERYWHERE, but nothing seems big here. Or really little either. In New York, everything had scale. You either felt smothered and stagnant in a tiny town, or crushed in the cold rush of the city. It was hard to find a comfortable balance between being close to nature and friendly faces or being somewhere you could get a job.

Here, it’s different. Even the largest city still feels like a sleepy town and everyone is warm and welcoming. I’m never far from the forest and I love living on the coast and being able to see the ocean any time I want.

And the leaves have finally turned. I’m so excited to visit the beach once the snow starts to fall. Until then, we plan on squeezing in a few more hikes. This is the best time of year for hiking.

Leave a Reply

